Budget and Hertz list official Hobart Airport locations. Enterprise still lists Hobart Airport online, but its Australian FAQ says local operations closed temporarily from 1 February 2026. As at 18 October 2026, Enterprise bookings in Hobart remain unconfirmed.
A bond is a temporary card hold or deposit. The damage excess is the amount you may have to pay if the hire car is damaged; they are separate costs. Before booking, review the full quote and rental agreement. Make sure you understand the bond and excess, how payment works, and whether your route requires permission.

Hobart Airport pickup and returns
Budget’s Hobart Airport page places its counter inside the terminal and says the cars are a short walk away. To reach the cars, exit the terminal, turn right and follow the green poles. For returns, follow the rental-car signs into the rental car park. The branch lists daily hours of 4:00 am to 11:30 pm and says after-hours returns are unavailable, so plan to return the car within those hours.
Hertz lists its airport address as Addison Drive, Hobart, TAS 7170, and gives its telephone number as 03 6235 9670. Its published hours are 7:00 am to midnight Monday to Friday and Sunday, and 7:00 am to 10:00 pm on Saturday. The airport page does not give the same detailed counter-to-car directions as Budget or confirm an after-hours return procedure. Confirm the arrangements for your booking, particularly if your flight arrives or departs outside branch hours.
Hobart Airport says 16 car-rental companies serve the airport, with seven located in the forecourt in front of the terminal. That airport-wide figure does not establish the current presence of any particular brand.
Compare Budget, Hertz and Enterprise
| Provider | Airport access | Age and licence | Bond, excess and payment | Tasmania travel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Budget | Terminal counter and a short walk to the cars. Daily hours are 4:00 am to 11:30 pm; no after-hours returns. | Minimum age 21. A full, valid licence must have been held for at least 12 consecutive months. Learner, provisional and restricted licences are not accepted. Under-25 drivers are limited to specified vehicle groups, and a young-driver surcharge may apply. | The card hold is the estimated rental cost plus an additional amount. For a car, the additional amount is $200 for Pay Now with a credit or debit card, $0 for Pay Later with a credit card, and $200 for Pay Later with a debit card. The hold is not the damage excess. The rental document sets the applicable excess and any waiver amount. | A car collected in Tasmania must not leave the state without Budget’s written authorisation. One-way hires within Tasmania are generally available, with cost and restrictions dependent on the quote. |
| Hertz | Airport location at Addison Drive. Published hours vary by day; detailed pickup and return directions are not stated on the location page. | Minimum age 21. The driver must hold a current licence for at least 12 consecutive months. A licence not in English needs a certified English translation; learner permits are not accepted. For drivers aged 21–24, the published Australian surcharge is $16.50 per day for passenger, prestige, 4WD and light-commercial vehicles, capped at seven days in each 30-day period. Listed heavy-commercial and 21-plus-seater categories have a $27.50 daily surcharge. | Hertz says it places an authority hold at the start of the hire. Its FAQ says release generally takes 2–10 days, depending on the bank. A cash deposit, if accepted, is refunded by cheque and may take up to 14 working days. The Hobart hold amount and a standard Hobart damage excess are not stated in the reviewed material. | Hertz’s published information does not state Hobart-specific rules for ferry travel, leaving Tasmania or restricted roads. Check the rental agreement for the planned route. |
| Enterprise | An official Hobart Airport listing remains online, but Enterprise’s Australian FAQ says its operation closed temporarily from 1 February 2026 during a franchise transition. Reopening and current airport bookings are unconfirmed. | Current Hobart driver rules cannot be confirmed while the local operation’s status is unresolved. | No current Hobart bond, excess or payment terms are confirmed. | No current Hobart travel restrictions can be treated as active rental conditions. |
Budget’s pre-authorisation figures and rental terms are published by the company. Its rental terms took effect on 4 June 2025. Hertz’s age surcharges are published Australian terms, not a Hobart-specific quote. A vehicle’s availability and final charges depend on the booking details and rental agreement.
Bonds, excess and card charges
Budget calculates its card hold by adding the stated amount to the estimated rental charges. For example, a Pay Later booking using a credit card has no additional amount in the published car pre-authorisation schedule, but the estimated rental charges still form part of the hold. Budget says a bank can take up to 10 business days to release any unused balance.
The hold does not set the amount you owe after damage. Budget’s rental document specifies the damage excess and any waiver amount. Hertz explains hold-release timing but does not publish a standard Hobart hold or excess amount. Check the quote and rental agreement for the actual figures and for the cost and effect of optional cover.
Budget’s terms list a 1.29% surcharge for Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Diners cards, subject to the terms’ conditions. Hertz’s published information does not state a Hobart card surcharge or all card eligibility conditions. Check the payment terms attached to the quote before relying on a particular card.
Age and licence rules
Budget and Hertz both set a minimum age of 21 and require a full or current licence held for at least 12 consecutive months. Budget does not accept learner, provisional or restricted licences. Hertz does not accept learner permits and requires a certified English translation if the licence is not in English.
Drivers aged 21–24 should compare the vehicle class as well as the daily rate. Budget restricts under-25 drivers to specified groups and says a surcharge may apply. Hertz publishes daily surcharge amounts by vehicle category, with the stated seven-day cap applying within each 30-day period. These Australia-wide rules do not guarantee that a particular vehicle class is available to every driver at Hobart Airport.
Tasmania travel restrictions
Budget’s terms say a car collected in Tasmania must stay in Tasmania unless Budget gives written authorisation to take it off the island. Budget describes one-way hires within Tasmania as generally available, but the price and restrictions depend on the trip entered in the quote. Get written approval before planning ferry travel or any off-island journey.
Hertz’s published information does not specify equivalent permissions for ferry travel, off-island trips or restricted roads. Confirm the proposed route against the specific rental agreement before booking. Enterprise’s Hobart listing does not establish current travel conditions while its Australian operation is listed as temporarily closed.


