Search Straya

Search destinations, living guides and practical advice.

Australia in Australia

Cruisin Motorhomes Australia

In this guide

Cruisin Motorhomes rents 2-, 4- and 6-berth motorhomes from depots in six Australian cities. Choose a depot for your route, then check that each driver meets the age and licence rules and that the bond and road restrictions fit your plans.

Cruisin’s branch information and rental conditions, reviewed on 15 October 2026, list depots in Cairns, Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne, Hobart and Perth. The detailed rental summary is version 1.0, effective from 1 April 2025. Check its fees and conditions against the live quote and rental agreement for your travel dates.

Cruisin’s six depots

Cruisin lists city-area depots rather than airport depots. The distances below are the company’s approximate distances from each airport; they are not travel times.

City Published depot address Approximate airport distance
Hobart 3 Runway Place, Cambridge TAS 7170 3 km
Melbourne 25–27 Catalina Drive, Tullamarine VIC 3043 4.2 km
Sydney 10 Wurrook Circuit, Caringbah NSW 2229 13.9 km
Brisbane 42 Vauxhall Street, Virginia QLD 4014 10.8 km
Cairns 399 Sheridan Street, Cairns North QLD 4870 3 km
Perth 5 Kingscote Street, Kewdale WA 6105 4.3 km

Cruisin suggests using a taxi or rideshare to reach a depot. Airport transfers are not listed as included. Its current branch information gives Cairns as 399 Sheridan Street, while the 2025 rental summary says 397–399 Sheridan Street. Check the pickup address on your booking.

The branch information reviewed on 15 October 2026 lists Hobart as generally open daily from 8 am to 4.30 pm. It is closed Sundays from 1 May to 31 August. The other five depots are listed as open Monday to Friday from 8 am to 4.30 pm and Saturday from 8 am to 1 pm, with Sundays closed. Good Friday, Christmas Day and New Year’s Day are listed as holiday closures. Cruisin asks renters to arrive at least an hour before closing for pickup or return, so confirm the hours for your branch and date.

The 2025 rental summary describes an unmanned Sunday return when a branch is closed. Renters leave the keys in a return box. This does not mean Sunday pickups are available. Hobart is Cruisin’s only listed Tasmanian depot, and the company says vehicles cannot be returned in Launceston.

Vehicle categories and road rules

Cruisin lists 2-, 4- and 6-berth vehicles, with category names including Rover, Sandpiper, Adventurer, Deluxe, Seeker and Discovery. The exact range depends on the depot and travel dates. Customers book a category rather than a particular make or model, and Cruisin’s 2025 summary allows it to substitute a vehicle if the booked vehicle becomes unavailable.

Cruisin’s rental FAQ includes unlimited kilometres, while its published road rule limits travel to sealed roads, except for well-maintained access roads of less than 12 km to recognised campgrounds. Cruisin also reserves the right to restrict travel based on road conditions. Weather conditions and the distance planned for the hire period are separate grounds for restrictions. The published information does not provide a complete list of approved named routes, so check permission before planning unsealed-road travel.

Driver eligibility and rental costs

Cruisin’s rental summary, effective from 1 April 2025, sets the minimum driver age at 21. Each driver must hold a full, non-probationary licence. For a licence that is not in English, the summary accepts an International Driving Permit or an accredited English translation. Up to three drivers are included without an extra-driver charge for standard rentals; Cruisin’s FAQ says this does not apply to relocation specials.

For Cruisin-branded vehicles, the 2025 summary sets the standard bond and renter liability at $5,000. It calls this amount “liability”; it applies per claim regardless of fault, and the summary adds a $75 administration fee per claim. The separate $3,000 figure in that document applies to the GoCheap Hi Top, not Cruisin-branded vehicles.

At pickup, the bond must be paid with a physical credit card. The cardholder must be present, and the bond cannot be split across cards. Cruisin says bond refunds can take up to 14 working days, depending on the financial institution. To meet the stated refund conditions, renters must return the motorhome on time to the correct location and comply with the rental agreement. The fuel tank must be full, and the toilet and grey-water tanks must be empty.

The same 2025 summary publishes these optional cover prices for Cruisin vehicles:

Published option Price in the 2025 summary Liability and bond stated
Liability Reduction Option $45 per day, capped at $2,250 Zero liability; no bond
Maximum Cover Package $55 per day, capped at $2,750 Zero liability; no bond; includes listed extras
Windscreen and tyre cover $90 once-off Optional add-on; included in Maximum Cover

These are published figures in a summary effective from 1 April 2025, not confirmed prices for a 2026 booking. The summary also lists exclusions and continuing renter responsibilities. These include some overhead and underbody damage, water submersion and salt-water damage. Other listed items are prohibited use, incorrect fuel and awning damage. Rollover damage is excluded except where Maximum Cover applies. Check the full agreement for the exact cover and exclusions on your booking.

The 2025 summary sets a $300 booking deposit, with the remaining balance due at pickup. It says the rental can instead be paid in full at booking, which waives the card fee. Cruisin’s payment information lists Visa, Visa Debit, Mastercard and Mastercard Debit; EFTPOS can be used for rental charges but not the bond. Cash is not accepted. The summary says a credit-card surcharge applies but does not state the rate. Direct deposit must be arranged in advance; Cruisin’s FAQ says to allow at least seven days for domestic payments and 14 days for international payments.

The 2025 summary does not state a child-restraint fee or full fitting conditions. The charge and fitting arrangements depend on the quote and agreement.

One-way hires and minimum stays

Cruisin’s rental FAQ gives a usual minimum hire of five days, rising at some peak times. It states a 21-day minimum for one-way rentals. The 2025 summary also gives five days as the base minimum but allows seasonal and event-specific increases. Its event schedule includes dates that have passed, so these figures do not establish the minimum for a particular 2026 or later booking. Confirm the minimum for your dates and city pair.

The 2025 summary and Cruisin’s FAQ publish a $165 one-way fee for pickup at one Cruisin depot and return to another. Changing the return depot after the hire has started requires prior approval; the summary says an additional charge of up to $700 may apply. These are published amounts in the summary effective from 1 April 2025, and the live quote should confirm what applies to your route.

Cruisin compared with Britz

Britz’s official branch information lists ten Australian locations, compared with Cruisin’s six. The comparison below covers listed depots and broad vehicle choice, not price or insurance equivalence.

Provider Listed Australian locations Broad published vehicle offer
Cruisin Motorhomes Cairns, Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne, Hobart and Perth 2-, 4- and 6-berth motorhomes, with categories including Rover, Sandpiper, Adventurer and Deluxe
Britz Adelaide, Alice Springs, Brisbane, Broome, Cairns, Darwin, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney 2WD campervans, including two-person and two-adult-plus-two-child configurations, as well as 4WD vehicles

Both providers list depots in Brisbane, Cairns, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney. Britz’s published footprint also includes Adelaide, Alice Springs, Broome and Darwin, which Cruisin does not list. That wider network does not establish availability for a particular date or route, and the vehicle descriptions do not show which provider will cost less. Compare the quote, excess or liability, route rules and pickup location for the exact trip.